Askqance – The KQA Silver Jubilee Quiz Festival

The Karnataka Quiz Association celebrates the 25th anniversary of its founding this year.  ASKQANCE 2008, our anniversary quiz festival will now feature nine quizzes to be held over two days.

This year’s ASKQANCE is supported by TVS Tyres who also celebrate their 25th anniversary.

The Dates:

  • Saturday 28th June 2008
  • Sunday 29th June 2008

The Venues:

Saturday 28th June

Old Hall, St. Joseph’s Boys High School
Museum Road

Sunday 29th June

Purandara Bhavan
(Indiranagar Sangeetha Sabha)
8th Main Road
(Near Indiranagar Club)

The Quizzes

Quizzes on Saturday, 28th June

KQA Intercollegiate Championships
(featuring two separate finals for junior college and collegiate teams)
3-member teams
No entry fee
No mixed teams allowed
Registration: 09:30a.m.
Start: 10:00a.m. sharp
Junior Finals: 11:00a.m.-12:00 noon
College Finals: 1200 noon -1:00p.m.
Prizes totalling Rs. 10,000 to be won.
QMs: Ochintya Sharma, Rajeev Gowda and Thejaswi Udupa

The Third edition of the Bangalore Quiz
2-member teams
Open to all
Entry fee: Rs. 50/-
Start: 1:30 p.m
Prizes: Rs. 2000/-, Rs. 1500/- and Rs. 1000/-
QM: Arul Mani

Open Entertainment Quiz
Teams of 4 members
Entry Fee: Rs. 200/-
Start: 3:00p.m.
Finals: 4:00p.m. – 6:00p.m.
Prizes totalling Rs. 20,000/- to be won
QMs: Kiran Vijayakumar and Madhav Nair

Venkatesh and Vivek Karthikeyan will coordinate an Informal Sports
Quiz beginning at 1:00p.m. The best five individual entries in this written
contest will win prizes.

Quizzes on Sunday, 29th June (at Purandara Bhavan)

High School Quiz Championships
Teams of 2 members
A maximum of 6 teams per school
No entry fee
Prelims: 10 a.m
QM: Dibyendu Das

High School Solo Championship
Start: 12:30 p.m
QM: Mitesh Agarwal

Prizes totalling Rs. 10,000/-

Rajagopal PS will coordinate an Informal Science Quiz, open to all, starting at 1100hrs. Prizes for the best five individual entries.

Sesame – The Open Quiz

Teams of 4 members
Open to all
Entry Fee: Rs. 100/-
Free entry for school teams
Prelims: 2p.m.

TVS Tyres Ride Smart Round: 3:30pm

Finals: 4:15p.m.
QMs: Arun Hiregange and Arul Mani
Prizes totalling Rs. 25,000/-

KQA Silver Jubilee Ceremonies
6:00 p.m

All prizes and certificates will be given out during the ceremonies.

A map to help those who need directions to Purandara Bhavan for the quizzes on 29th June:

The Landmark Pune Quiz 2008

Find the review and prelims of this quiz by clicking here

Landmark Pune are organising a quiz on the evening of 28th of June, 2008 at Nehru Memorial Hall.


* Teams of upto 3 members.
* Venue: Nehru Memorial Hall, Camp, Pune
* 28th of June 2008, 3pm.
* Quizmaster: Derek O’Brien

* Prizes

(All prizes are in form of Landmark Gift Vouchers)
– First place – Rs. 30000
– Second place – Rs. 15000
– Third place – Rs. 9000
– Best corporate team – Rs. 6000
– Best team name – Rs. 3000
– Best school team – Rs. 6000 (students of upto class 12 are eligible)
– Best school team runner up – Rs. 3000 (students of upto class 12 are eligible)
– Quizzer of the year – Rs. 5000
– Plus attractive audience prizes.

* Registration needs to be done in advance. The organizers will be assigning seats, and so it is recommended that you register early so as to avoid last minute crowding.

* To register, walk into Landmark (Next to Dorabjee’s), Moledina Road, Camp, Pune anytime before the 28th of June. You can register for your friends just as well. You could call 40068888 for details.